Get InQueensland in your inbox Subscribe

Five-team domestic comp to replace Super Rugby in Australia


Rugby Australia (RA) is set to announce an interim domestic men’s competition to replace this year’s Super Rugby tournament, with the Perth-based Western Force to be included.

Print article


The Force were kicked out of Super Rugby at the end of the 2017 season, but they are set to play alongside Australia’s existing franchises, the New South Wales Waratahs, the Queensland Reds, the Brumbies and the Melbourne Rebels.

Japan’s Sunwolves, who are to be left out of Super Rugby beyond this year, may also be included in the competition and be based in Australia.

The competition is expected to begin in July.

RA’s decision to launch a domestic tournament comes after Super Rugby was suspended in March because of the coronavirus pandemic.

It would mirror similar competitions in New Zealand and South Africa, although the format has not been finalised.

Training for the Australian teams will begin this week after all sides are given biosecurity briefings.

– ABC / © 2020 Australian Broadcasting Corporation. All rights reserved.

More News stories

Loading next article