Get InQueensland in your inbox Subscribe

Queensland Indigenous artists take centre stage in music awards


As NAIDOC week continues to celebrate First Nations history and culture, the nominees for the National Indigenous Music Awards show top Queensland artists dominating major prize categories from Miiesha to Sycco to Beddy Rays.

Print article

The nominees for National Indigenous Music Awards (NIMA) have today been announced with top Queensland artists in every major category in a celebration of the richness and diversity of Indigenous music.

The awards will be hosted in the Darwin Amphitheatre on 7 August with stars representing every genre from hip-hop to indie to pop music.

Following a huge year of accolades, nominated for five ARIAs and winning three awards at the Queensland Music Awards, R&B singer Miiesha is nominated for Artist of the Year and Song of the Year alongside indie singer Sycco.

Miiesha’s nominations arrive after a huge year of critical acclaim for her debut album Nyaaringu, an interwoven collection of stories of the Indigenous experience with elements of R&B, Soul, and Gospel and interludes of her Grandmother speaking that emulate the passing down of knowledge.

The winner of the QMAs coveted Song of the Year and Pop Category, Sycco, will rival Miiesha for Artist and Song of the Year as she recently announced her first EP, Sycco’s First EP, is to be released 30 July.

Brisbane indie singer Sycco is nominated for Artist of the Year, Song of the Year, and Film Clip of the Year (Image: Supplied)

Redland Bay surf rockers Beddy Rays are nominated for New Talent of the Year while Mackay-based singer-songwriter Tia Gostelow is nominated for Album of the Year for her second album, electro-pop record Chrysalis.

NIMAs Creative Director Ben Graetz said it was an honour to be able to celebrate some of the world’s best musical talent in a way that honours their Indigeneity.

“This year, as we focus on healing and reflection, we have the wonderful opportunity to reconnect as a community to discover and celebrate the magic of music from both up-and-coming and established First Nations’ artists,” he said.

“The finalists are some of the most talented musicians across the country and the world, and we are proud to be able to provide a platform for their musical craft to be recognised.”

First Nations stars from around the country have also been nominated including international chart topper and Kamilaroi man The Kid LAROI, who has collaborated with Miley Cyrus and Justin Bieber.

Jessica Mauboy, Baker Boy, and Birdz are nominated for Artist and Song of the Year alongside Miiesha, Sycco, and The Kid LAROI.

Tia Gostelow, Leah Flanagan, Made For This, and Benny Walker are nominated for the Album of the Year category and J-MILLA, King Stingray, Budjerah and Chasing Ghosts will compete against Beddy Rays for New Talent of the Year.

The awards will be broadcast via NITV and hosted by comedian Steven Oliver with performances by Baker Boy, Miiesha, Electric Fields, King Stingray, Dallas Woods and Kee’Ahn, and Alice Skye.

The National Indigenous Music Awards will be held 7 August, for the full list of nominees visit NIMAs website. 

More Culture stories

Loading next article